Home > Uncategorized > To whom I write these words

To whom I write these words

camouflage-notIt’s been ten weeks already since the start of the semester – and, no, that’s not because I can count, but it’s thanks to the reminders I got from fellow ‘communiteers’ I’ve been emailing via our virtual (‘Blackboard’) classroom tonight.  But, yes, ten weeks into the semester and I’m still feeling uneasy about blogging and the whole action-learning cycle.  The business and marketing philosophies that have been conditioned into me are telling me that to get ‘buy-in’ for my project, I should fill this space with ‘stuff that sells’  – pretty pictures? ‘Come one come all’ slogans? Big promises and even bigger disclaimers?   – Besides the pretty pics, I haven’t used this site as an overt marketing tool as such and I think this is both a source of comfort and a source of my unease.  It does feel a tad exposing and quite unnatural to me to use this site both as a space for personal reflection and as a medium for sharing information about the project.   At the back of my mind I can’t help thinking I’ve gone against all common sense by uploading wordy project plans, calls for help, and reflections about my dilemmas that give away all too clearly the constant state of confusion I’m in!  Nevertheless, I persist – I’m trusting that, with a sound analysis and a strong rationale, the theories and ideas I adopt can translate into praxis.  I’m trusting that on the other side of my discomfort will be discovery and I’m hoping beyond hope that you, the reader, will not lose faith in me!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. KErstin Liebchen
    May 17, 2010 at 11:20 am

    reads really well Janelle, keep going – I’m enjoying this 😉

  2. Hannah
    May 26, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I do like the pretty picture!

    • May 27, 2010 at 5:09 pm

      ooh…that was one i took the last time I visited Taronga Zoo – a group of us decided we’d take some children from the STARTTS program on an excursion to the zoo…it was a great day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

